Although the abortion law has changed, you can still get an abortion in Florida. Many news articles declared the overturning of Roe v. Wade meant women no longer had a right to abortion.
The truth is the constitution no longer protects abortion at the federal level. Each state is responsible for determining its abortion laws, which means each has different laws and regulations.
Current Abortion Law in Florida
Florida bans abortions after 15 weeks and 0 days from the first day of a woman’s last menstrual cycle. The only exception to the law is when it is necessary to save the pregnant woman’s life.
Requirements Before Abortion in Florida
You are required to have an ultrasound before getting an abortion. The abortion provider must offer you the opportunity to see the ultrasound, but you can choose whether to look at it or not.
Ultrasound informs you how far along you are in your pregnancy (if you’re less than 15 weeks and 0 days).
An ultrasound scan reveals if your pregnancy is viable (developing with a heartbeat and not ectopic) or if you have miscarried. Experts say up to 20% of known pregnancies end in a natural miscarriage.
The number of miscarriages may be higher because they often occur early in a woman’s pregnancy. Ultrasound also verifies the location of your pregnancy. Some pregnancies develop outside the uterus, which is extremely dangerous to your health.
After you discuss the risks of abortion with a physician, you have a 24-hour wait before the procedure.
If you are under age 18, a parent or legal guardian must give you permission to get an abortion in our state.
Receive a No-Cost Ultrasound and Pregnancy Test
Receive confirmation of your pregnancy with no-cost ultrasounds and no-cost pregnancy testing at Palm Beach Women’s Clinic.
We can discuss abortion procedures, side effects, potential risks, and alternatives. All of your test results and our conversations are strictly confidential.
Schedule an appointment at one of our convenient locations. We’re here to give you the help you need.